Retrospective: Fallout 3

In my retrospection articles I will be talking about videogames I’ve played in the past, and how they affected me, and the games industry in general. Today I’ll be talking about Fallout 3.

I got Fallout 3 when it first came out in October of 2008. I had read some reviews and previews and it interested me, despite the fact that I had never played a previous Fallout game, let alone heard of one. The RPG elements and setting drew me in, and I paid a full $60 for the game. In my opinion, the game is well worth $60. There is so much to do and so many places to go. The DLCs only add to that.

To me, the game world felt alive, it felt like it was still moving even after I shut my console off. Traveling caravaners, hunters, and random wastelanders created this sense of immersion. I remember especially feeling this way when I was attacked by former residents of Megaton after I blew it up. I felt like my actions really had impact.

One of the most memorable experiences I’ve had with games came from Fallout 3. I did my best of going into the game without anything being spoiled, coming in with a fresh point of view. Hell, I thought the Chinese assault rifle was the best gun in the game when I first saw it. I had gotten about ten or twenty hours into the game, and had no clue that Rivet City existed. I decided to explore a bit of DC, and low and behold, I come across an entirely new city inside a battleship. My mind was blown. A whole new city, a whole new cast of characters and a ton of new quests. I remember spending at least a week of in-game time on that ship, never leaving, taking in every room, talking to every person. I was amazed by my discovery. It’s things such as this that make me wish I could erase my memory and experience things again for the first time.

Fallout 3 helped to introduce me to the Western RPG, as I hadn’t really played any, seeing how I was mostly playing shooters and platformers. It also introduced me to Bethesda, who I’m a big fan of today. Fallout 3 will always be one of my favorite games, and one I won’t hesitate to play even today, four years after its release, hundreds of hours played.

Although I was excited for New Vegas, it didn’t hold the same feel and charm as Fallout 3 did. For me, the setting wasn’t as interesting, and the world didn’t seem as populated. It also felt as though it was just a bloated expansion, and not a fully formed game. Another thing that irked me about New Vegas was the fact that Bethesda once again stopped the game after the main quest. They did it in Fallout 3, but fixed it with the Broken Steel DLC, so why make the same mistake? They’ve never done this with the Elder Scrolls games, so why with the Fallout games? It boggles my mind to no end.

With all that being said, though, I absolutely love Fallout 3, and could go on about it much more than anyone would be willing to listen to. Perhaps more of my love for Fallout 3 will show through in later articles.

One comment

  1. I loved Fallout 3. I have all of the DLC and keep meaning to play it, but every time I go back something about the game just feels dated and I can’t keep playing it. Maybe it’s because I’ve already spent too many hours playing the game over and over. I guess I’ll just hold my breath until Fallout 4 comes around. (played through New Vegas and it was fun, but never saw a reason to go back).

    -avideogamelife.com

Leave a Reply

